Virginia Coalfields Expressway Authority

The primary purpose of the Virginia Coalfields Expressway Authority (CFX), created by the Virginia General Assembly, is to improve transportation into, from, within and through Southwest Virginia, assist in regional economic development and generally enhance highway safety in the affected localities of Buchanan, Dickenson and Wise counties.

The authority was created by the General Assembly in 2017. The Virginia Coalfield Economic Development Authority (VCEDA) provides staffing assistance to the Virginia Coalfields Expressway Authority.

Under the code of Virginia, the authority has a total membership of 12 members, including nine non-legislative citizen members and three ex officio members. Six of the non-legislative citizen members are appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates — two each from Buchanan, Dickenson and Wise counties. Three members are appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules, including one each from Buchanan, Dickenson and Wise counties. The chairmen of the boards of supervisors of Buchanan, Dickenson and Wise counties, or their designees, serve as ex officio members with voting privileges.

The authority will work with counties, municipalities, state and federal agencies, public nonprofit corporations, private corporations, associations, partnerships and individuals for the purpose of planning, assisting and establishing recreational, tourism, industrial, economic and community development of the proposed Coalfields Expressway for the benefit of the Commonwealth.

It is also authorized to work with surrounding states in developing the Coalfields Expressway in the Commonwealth,  in an effort to link Interstates 64 and 77 in West Virginia with Route 23 in Virginia, which links to interstates in Kentucky and Tennessee.

The Coalfields Expressway, designated as U.S. Route 121, is also designated as a Congressional High Priority Corridor.

CFX Authority Members

Jay Rife – Buchanan County

Mike Yates – Dickenson County
Vice Chairman

James Keen – Buchanan County
Ed Talbott – Buchanan County
Keith Viers – Dickenson County
Scott Mullins – Dickenson County
Bonnie L. Bates – Wise County
J.H. Rivers – Wise County
Melanie Salyer – Wise County

Ex-Officio Members


Drew Keene – Buchanan County
Josh Evans – Dickenson County
John Schoolcraft – Wise County


Jonathan Belcher
Executive Director/Secretary-Treasurer

Meeting Notices

The Virginia Coalfields Expressway Authority will meet at 2 p.m. Dec. 7, 2021 at the VCEDA office, 527 E. Main St., Lebanon, Va.




The Virginia Code establishing Virginia Coalfields Expressway Authority

CFX Authority Resolution Supporting the Completion of the Coalfields Expressway

CFX Project Map

Economic Impact of the Coalfields Expressway in its Corridor in Virginia and West Virginia

Annual Report of the Virginia CFX Authority

News release on the May 24, 2021 meeting of the Virginia Coalfields Expressway Authority, click here.

News release on the Dec.15, 2020 virtual meeting of the Virginia Coalfields Expressway Authority, click here.

The first meeting of the Virginia Coalfields Expressway Authority was held Oct. 6, 2020 at the Southern Gap Transportation and Logistics Center, Grundy, Va.
News release on the initial meeting, click here.