The Board of the Virginia Coalfield Economic Development Authority (VCEDA) includes 16 members, all Virginia residents. Membership includes the three largest coal producers in the region, the largest oil and gas producer in the region, the Virginia Coal and Energy Alliance, five gubernatorial appointees, representatives from the boards of supervisors of the three largest coal producing counties in the region, the executive directors of the LENOWISCO and Cumberland Plateau planning district commissions, and a representative from the Virginia Economic Development Partnership. From its membership, the VCEDA Board annually elects a chairman, vice chairman, secretary and treasurer.


Larry Mosley

J.P. Richardson
Vice Chairman

Esther Bolling

Governor’s Appointees

Maggie Asbury
Esther Bolling
Becky Coleman
Larry Mosley
Kathy Still

Coal Producers

Troy Nichols
Paramont Contura, LLC

J. P. Richardson
Surface Minerals Company

Brian Hess
Coronado IV LLC

Gas Producer

Sonny Ciampanella
Pocahontas Gas

Virginia Coal & Energy Alliance

Barbara Altizer

Planning District Commissions

Scotty Wampler
Cumberland Plateau PDC

Duane A. Miller

County Board of Supervisors

Roger Rife
Buchanan County

Rhonda Sluss
Dickenson County

Andy Hrovatic
Tazewell County

Virginia Economic Development Partnership

Tim Stuller